Our network

NOVA’s Dr. Kenneth Rasmussen Recipient of Statewide 2011 Outstanding Faculty Award | News

Title (Max 100 Characters)

NOVA’s Dr. Kenneth Rasmussen Recipient of Statewide 2011 Outstanding Faculty Award
News, People, Schools

From Northern VA Community College:

Northern Virginia Community College (NOVA) is pleased to announce that Dr. Kenneth Rasmussen, Professor of Geology, has been selected by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) and Dominion Resources as a recipient of the 2011 Outstanding Faculty Award. Rasmussen is one of twelve faculty members from Virginia’s public and private higher education institutions to receive the award. This prestigious award is the highest honor bestowed upon faculty in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

The Annandale Campus professor has been teaching at NOVA since 1992. Rasmussen was the first to offer Honors Geology and Oceanography classes at NOVA, and has allowed advanced students to join him in conducting research at the Smithsonian Institution. He has created a wide range of geosciences offerings since joining the faculty and mentors a diverse group of NOVA students. In addition to this year’s recognition, Rasmussen has received a vast array of awards and fellowships that have spanned the globe during his career. He has contributed to 26 scientific publications during his tenure at NOVA.  

NOVA President Robert G. Templin, Jr. congratulated Rasmussen on behalf of the College.  “We are honored that Dr. Rasmussen was selected for this prestigious award from a highly competitive pool of 106 applicants. Dr. Rasmussen has been extremely dedicated and passionate about Geology and has shared his love of this field with NOVA students since 1992. Please join me in congratulating our colleague, Kenneth Rasmussen, for being recognized as one of the Commonwealth’s outstanding faculty members.” 

Rasmussen won the NOVA Alumni Federation’s Faculty of the Year Award, and the John H. Moss Award for Excellence in College Teaching from the National Association of Geoscience Teachers. He won a NOVA Presidential Sabbatical Award dedicated to Quaternary paleoclimate research on Lake Issyk-Kul, a remote and deep lake in the central Asian Republic of Kyrgyzstan.

Rasmussen received a Post-Doctoral Fellowship for investigations of Lake Issyk-Kul from the National Science Foundation (NSF) and NATO in 1993, and was one of the first Western geoscientists to live, conduct research, and lecture in this newly independent, formerly Soviet republic.

 “I believe that all 21st century citizens need to appreciate how the Earth works, and their role in its future. Geo-science is a global subject full of unparalleled grandeur, endless cross-disciplinary linkages and a depth of history spanning roughly 4.5 billion years – so there’s a lot to teach,” states Rasmussen. 

Rasmussen received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Biology-Geology from the University of Rochester, and has a doctorate in Marine Science from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Rasmussen will travel to The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond on Feb. 17, for a ceremony honoring this year’s recipients.

News, People, Schools