Our network

Greater Springfield Chamber Inducts New Board and President, Honors Awardees | Business

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Greater Springfield Chamber Inducts New Board and President, Honors Awardees
Greater Springfield Chamber Inducts New Board and President, Honors Awardees

The Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce held its Annual Dinner Thursday evening, December 8 at the Hilton Springfield.  The Chamber, representing businesses from Burke, Fairfax Station, Franconia, Kingstowne, Lorton Station, Newington and Springfield, used the year end event to introduce its newly elected board members and the coming year’s board president.  Following the board installation the Chamber recognized worthy businesses and individuals for their accomplishments and contributions to our community.

The black-tie requested event was made possible through the longtime support of the Hilton Springfield, the events Presenting Sponsor.  Additional sponsorship’s provided for table favors, dinner wines and centerpieces.  This year’s Table Sponsors included Cerium Technology, Colonial Animal Hospital, Costco Newington-Springfield, Hilltop Golf Club, Interstate Worldwide Relocation, NOVA Medical Education Campus HIS, Transurban, and Union First Market Bank.

Each fall the Chamber’s general membership votes for five representatives from among its ranks to serve a three-year board term.  Newly elected board members, to begin service January 1, include Bill Kauffeld, general manager of Austin Grill in West Springfield; Kathleen McDermott an attorney with the Alliance Law Group; Mark Russell, owner of Metro Run & Walk in Central Springfield; and Suzanne Shogren, director of sales at the Hilton Springfield.  Anna Kaviani, owner of Allegra Springfield and the Chamber’s 2011 board president, was elected to serve a second three-year term on the board.

Dick Lucier will serve as board president beginning January 1.  A licensed insurance agent since 1974, Dick began his personal practice under the trade name Diversified Benefits Agency in 2002.  Dick’s company has been a Chamber member since 2005.  He currently serves as chair of our Legislative Committee.

The Chamber presented its Corporate Citizen Award to Austin Grill for its support of the Greater Springfield community through local sponsorship of Relay for Life, National Night Out, Lake Braddock Secondary School, Robert E Lee High School, West Springfield High School, the Fairfax County Human Society and many more.

The evening’s second business award, the Arthur E. Morrissette Top Hat Service Award, was given to Eddie Greenan Jewelers located in Springfield Plaza.  Owners Eddie and Vicki Greenan were recognized for their commitment to greet customers with a smile and to make sure every shopper is provided whatever time is required so they leave with just what they want, at a reasonable price.

Leslie Bazemore, a school crossing guard with the Fairfax County Police Department, was honored for her public service to students at Washington Irving Middle School and Rolling Valley Elementary School.  Leslie was praised by school administration, parents, students and her superiors.

The Chamber’s highest citizenship award, the Herbert C. Hunter Citizen of the Year, was bestowed on Evelyn Jackson a resident and volunteer at Greenspring.  Evelyn has managed the Treasure Chest, the all-volunteer run thrift store for Greenspring residents and staff, since 2005.  Under Evelyn’s leadership the Treasure Chest has donated over $575,000 to local non-profit organizations.

The Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce is a non-profit organization whose mission is to bring companies together to benefit the entire community by promoting and developing business opportunities in the Greater Springfield area.  Founded in 1957, the Chamber formulates and advocates positions critical to business, keeps members apprised of current community issues and provides numerous networking and education opportunities.  For more information about the Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce, visit www.springfieldchamber.org.